US govt deal making is a race to the bottom

Its been painful to watch our democrat led govt turn into a free money feeding frenzy.

Todays nytimes reports that in order to pass the climate change bill lawmakers doled out billions in gifts to each other and special interests from agriculture, forestry and even oil.

It says “the deal making continued up untill the final moments with rep waxman doling out billions on the house floor to secure final votes.’

The story notes that a freshman lawmaker from florida got $50 million for a hurricane research center.

Rep bobby rush of illinois withheld support until a last minute deal got his state $1 billion for jobs and energy efficient public housing. Does anyone question whether the energy saved will equal the $1 billion we’re providing?

Even texas oil refineries got ‘relief’ with nearly $3 billion annually to help with added costs.

Rahm emanuel’s quote says the president ‘loves the bill…including the great, the good and the not so great provisions.’

As I’ve said before, we are reliving the lyndon johnson years of guns and butter. The only difference is the magnitude of spending.

What happens when you have a country with less than half its voters paying any taxes and a small % paying the majority?

For the minority footing greater bills there is a disincentive to generate income. For the vast majority there is a race to the bottom. Get while the getting’s good.

In other nytimes news…the governor of south carolina says he will repay public funds used to visit his mistress in argentina which he rationalizes because ‘it was a real love story’. And Al franken wins the supreme court decision giving the dems a filibuster proof senate majority.

God help us all:)

8 thoughts on “US govt deal making is a race to the bottom

  1. 72 hours are you kidding me 6 weeks and counting I know at least 1 person who has not heard anything for 3 mths and another friend you contacted them evey week for 6mths to get abused and his account closed. The longer I’m waiting and the more people I’m speaking to the more shocking the reports I’m hearing. People are saying that it’s ZYNGA who’s been hacking accounts – this would make sence when you get e-mails back from the saying they can not verify the loss – what they mean to say is they WILL NOT verify the loss.

  2. I HAVE to throw in my experience here. 72 hours? Are you drunk? High? I filed a claim on 6/10/09 which never got looked at until just last week on 7/22/09 by anyone with the authority to do anything about it and within 5 minutes my refund request was denied citing their “Terms of Purchase” Prior to this, the only looks my ticket ever got was by customer service reps when I called in who can’t do anything at all for you but “escalate”(which they couldn’t seem to do) I was told on at least 6-7 occasions my claim was being escalated yet it never seemed to get done. Finally last week after being told by “Keith” that I was getting my almost 900.00 refund, I asked him to send me an email to that effect of which he refused to do so i hung up and called back. I spoke with another representative and at this point, finally threatened to sue them and suddenly I get a decision against my request. I spent almost 900.00 to gain an advantage in the game and due to a glitch by their programmers, many many players were able to steal godfather points and overtake me therefore negating my advantange thus turning my 900.00 spent into a waste of good money. This company doesn’t care and won’t care unless/until they get forced to by the government and I for one, will be the happiest man alive if they were sued so bad they went completely out of business.
    I couldn’t get them to reply to my trouble ticket in what seemed like forever yet now, I get emails all the time from Zynga regarding other trouble tickets that do not belong to me therefore showing me someone elses private business/information. Makes me wonder how many times they sent my info to other people as these emails are also being CC’d to anywhere from 5-6 additional people. And they wonder why people’s credit card information gets unauthorized charges? I was also told at least 3 times that someone would call me back to resolve my issues and finally on my 4th call to them, I reminded them if they intended to do so, they would probably need to ask for my number at some point.(They never called nor do I believe they ever intended to) Their BBB score is an F and my final word…This company is a joke and their programmers couldn’t program a VCR

  3. Mr Pincus, you can hide behind your terms of purchase/terms of service which is fine, you probably have pretty solid ground to stand on but ethically and morally, Zynga is a loser. I spent almost 900.00 in roughly 45-60 days and would have spent alot more. While a small drop in the bucket, it’s nothing compared to what you lose due to unhappy customers not referring others to play and in my case, a step further, making as much noise as I can to tell people NOT to play your games. I’m not happy with Zynga’s denial of my refund request, their customer service(or lack thereof)nor the way I was treated.

  4. I hate to do this. I have so much invested, it is my fear that Zynga will close my account because I continue to persue points that I have payed for but not yet received. The $1,000 or so dollars I have spent are really not as important to me as the daily fix I get playing Mafia Wars. But, alas I must continue to try and get what I paid for. Reference # 090723-003340 is in fact NOT solved. Reference # 090806-002124 is in fact NOT solved. Since June I have not received the 187 points I am entitled to. Your assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated. I don’t know where else to turn. It makes me fear to spend any more money with Zynga. Thanks for your help in advance.

  5. Ameeen
    mark, should the US government keep pouring
    money like this , we should all buy lottery tickets and we all win
    then we all move to cayman island ahahahhahahahhahahah

  6. Dear Mark,
    Thanks for responding to my problem, I love your game..any help I can give in the future let me know.
    They were very helpful to me yesterday..
    Again thanks to all at zynga and have a nice day.

  7. Good god, yet another nerd deluding himself into thinking he and a select group of other nerds are the “engine that keeps the commerce of the world running”…
    I blame Ayn Rand.
    “There are two novels that can change a bookish fourteen-year old’s life: The Lord of the Rings and Atlas Shrugged. One is a childish fantasy that often engenders a lifelong obsession with its unbelievable heroes, leading to an emotionally stunted, socially crippled adulthood, unable to deal with the real world. The other, of course, involves orcs.”

Leave a Reply

