More on the mac question

Thanks for the comments and suggestions.

I downloaded a few stock apps for mac and they seem to all suck equally. Why is it so hard to build what msn investor offers? That is a self updating app that shows multiple groups of stocks and for your portfolio shows p/l and other metrics you choose.

Also, tried to find a good offline rss reader. No brainer for planes right? Again, why isn’t there an app that sucks in my bloglines list and grabs them all? With all the entrepreneurs building new apps how can these be missing? Guess they’re not as sexy as the next youtube or google.
Sent wirelessly via BlackBerry from T-Mobile.

8 thoughts on “More on the mac question

  1. I like NetNewsWire for off-line feed reading.
    As for the stock reader .. I’ve been idly futzing around with shell scripts that download data from google finance, and spit it back out as xml data into rss.
    Nothing at this point I could _show_ people but if you feel this is an area that lacks … I wonder if there is an opportunity here.
    Thoughts? It’s not like I have copious free time but when you see an opportunity to build a better mousetrap …. you lunge at it.

  2. What Brian doesn’t mention is that NetNewsWire allows you to sync with all of your Bloglines subs. In fact, I am doing this right now and it is how I read your blog. It keeps everything nice and easy for when I use multiple computers on the road.
    Also, with the new version of Parallels, you can run just the app you want and not really have to run Windows in its own dedicated space. It’s like having a native mac app.

  3. Mark: A while back I struggled with the same question–decent offline RSS reader that sync’ed to my Bloglines subs. I started by writing an IMAP-to-Bloglines gateway, where I could connect via an IMAP client (my choice for testing was Thunderbird) and give it my Bloglines username and password, and it would expose my Bloglines subscription as a series of IMAP folders, and the messages in the folders were the messages from Bloglines.
    It “worked” for my ~150 feeds … but it was clunky and Thunderbird’s “go offline” wasn’t very gratifying.

  4. What Brian doesn’t mention is that NetNewsWire allows you to sync with all of your Bloglines subs.
    Brian did not know about that – probably because he does not use bloglines.
    Also, with the new version of Parallels, you can run just the app you want and not really have to run Windows in its own dedicated space. It’s like having a native mac app.
    It’s not utopia but it works – I’ve found that there is a small lurch when task switching from ‘Mac’ to a desktop in Parallels. However to date the only OS I’ve installed that-a-way is Server 2003 EE so that might have something to do with it.

  5. Maybe you can run “Parallels” in your Mac, and all of the financial and stock apps inside of a virtual machine.
    You’ll be safe from viruses, have a happy life and will still be able to use the software you already rely on.
    Priceless.
    http://www.parallels.com

  6. i have parallels on my macbook pro but it’s really just an insurance policy. i haven’t had to actually use it.
    i also love netnewswire. very cool app. syncs great.
    have fun.

Leave a Reply

