Auren’s Radleaf reputation idea

My friend auren hoffman is launching a novel idea to independently host people’s reputations.

Its great to see entrepreneurs like auren experimenting with new models.

In general, I agree that there is a need for a portable reputation system that can enable non-ebay p2p transactions.

However, I question the potential for a system that has no obvious way to achieve the critical mass and network effect necessary for this to work. A voluntary system seems unlikely to be accurate too.

If however auren can get bizdev deals with major sites like amazon and yahoo he’d have a great shot. My own experience has been that its a major uphill battle convincing walled garden sites that benefit in the short term from lockin to act in the long term interest of their users.

I wish auren luck. Success on this front would be highly valuable and no matter what we’ll all learn. Sent wirelessly via BlackBerry from T-Mobile.

2 thoughts on “Auren’s Radleaf reputation idea

  1. Interesting idea. I am not sure a generic reputation system is meaningful in the context of a specific type of transaction. I think we would need different types of reputation systems. For example, buy-sell type reputation that we see at Ebay. I have my own idea that I am working on. I would love to speak with your friend to see if we could join forces to increase our chances of success…:-) Just a thought.

  2. I love the idea! The uses are so varied…
    payment reputation – ***** always pays on time
    reviewer reputation – ***** always thorough
    dating reputation – * run as far and as fast as you can
    😉

Leave a Reply

