Personal story on refco

One more point about this company. I opened an account with them in august of 2004 in order to bet on oil futures(manage my own white knuckle fund). They seemed like an aggressive bucket shop from day one. I had to convince some trader to deal with me and then take his calls two to three times a day lest I get fired as a client (which has happened before:).

He called to sell me every imaginable trade when all I wanted was long duration oil. Finally, couldn’t take it and had to close my account. Seemed as bad as any NJ bucket shop. Maybe this is the nature of the commodities biz which has always had stories of drug trafficking and get rich quick flameouts. But I’m one ex customer who’s glad to see yet another corrupt financial broker go away. Sent wirelessly via BlackBerry from T-Mobile.

Leave a Reply

